The Quiksilver In Memory Of Eddie Aikau

The Quiksilver In Memory Of Eddie Aikau
Like Dislike Save
Address 61-31 Kamehameha Hwy, Haleiwa, HI 96712
Big wave surf competition held only when the waves at Oahu's Waimea Bay are huge.

• General: Cost: Free • General: Photo Opportunity • General: Race / Competition • General: Restrooms • Water Activities: Surfing

The Quiksilver In Memory Of Eddie Aikau, which is often just known as "The Eddie" or "Eddie", is a big wave surfing competition. It's held at Waimea Bay Beach Park in Haleiwa on Oahu's north shore.

The competition is named after native Hawaiian Eddie Aikau who was a big wave surfer, lifeguard, and all around Hawaiian legend. Be sure to read more about Eddie Aikau.

The competition was originally started in 1984 and took place at nearby Sunset Beach and then moved to Waimea Bay Beach Park. The event only takes place when the waves are at least 30 feet tall. Because of that requirement, the event has only been held 9 times total. The latest even took place on February 25, 2016. Maybe we have El Nino In Hawaii to thank since 2015-2016 was an El Nino year! Before that, the last competition took place on December 8, 2009.

The window for the event is between December 1st and the last day of February each year which is when Waimea Bay Beach Park will see the biggest waves. If the window comes and goes without waves that are big enough the event is skipped until the next window.

Only 28 surfers are chosen each year and they compete in groups of 7 surfers at a time. Each surfer is chosen by voting from their peers and have to be invited to Waimea where they get to participate in the opening "Blessing of Eddie Aikau" ceremony that takes place on the first Thursday of December. After that, the surfers wait for an official go ahead for the competition.

Clyde Aikau, the brother of Eddie Aikau, won the second Eddie competition in 1986. Eddie Aikau, who died at age 31 in 1978, used to surf and compete together with Clyde and they're both the only native Hawaiians to ever win the Duke Kahanamoku Invitational Surfing Championship.