University Of Hawaii System

Like Dislike Save
Brief introduction to the University of Hawaii system.

• General: Educational

The University of Hawaii was founded in 1907. The institution has several locations in Hawaii, referred to as the University of Hawaii system. It originated with a single campus in the Manoa neighborhood in Honolulu. The need for higher education throughout the Islands caused resulted in the system's rapid growth and development.

Currently the University of Hawaii has three established university campuses, seven community colleges, five research centers, three university centers and four education centers in different locations throughout Hawaii. All of the campuses and colleges are fully accredited by Western Association of Schools and Colleges.

Combined, the University of Hawaii is reported to have over fifty thousand students from all locations. The student population cuts across both genders and all races. The motto for the school is “Maluna a‘e o na lahui a pau ke ola ke kanaka”, which translates from Hawaiian meaning “Above all nations is humanity”.

The University of Hawaii, Manoa, which is the flagship of all the campuses is located in Manoa on Oahu. The campus offers professional, undergraduate and graduate degrees in international business, eastern philosophy, environmental law, athletics and second language studies. This campus also has state-of-the-art research facilities.

The University of Hawaii, Hilo is situated in Hilo on the Big Island. This campus offers bachelor and master’s degree programs in indigenous languages, geology, astronomy and marine sciences. It's location aids the study of the natural sciences. It has a well-equipped laboratory for the study of natural sciences.

The University of Hawaii, West Oahu is latest campus in the UH system. It is located in Kapolei and established in 1976, however a new, modern campus opened in 2013. This campus distinguishes itself by offering personalized classes during the day, in the evening, weekends and even online. The West Oahu campus offers relatively low tuition fees compared to many other universities in United States.

Apart from the three university campuses, University of Hawaii’s seven community colleges offer several associate degrees and certificate programs. These community colleges are located in Hilo, Honolulu, East Honolulu, Lihue , Pearl City, Kahului and Kaneohe. All are duly accredited for their programs

You can visit for more information.